Reflection Point – April 29, 2014

This is my first reflection point blog post, a collection of conversations and resources I’ve liked, shared, or added as favorites from from across the web in the past few weeks.  I’ve been sitting on this idea for quite sometime, but I have finally put it into action as a result of my current enrollment in Harold Jarche’s PKM workshop.  I hope I keep this up, because I was pleasantly surprised to see three patterns emerge around my current areas of work or interest: community and social engagement, communicating and relating, and natural sciences.

Community and Social Engagement

Since jumping into the content development role in 2007 (and later community management roles), conversations have surely changed from a) how to use social media tools to engage people to b) actually changing our social approaches.  Here are some quotes and resources I kept coming back to the past few weeks:

@JackRicchiuto  “It is incredibly naïve to expect that anyone would support something they did not help create.” #engagement

Quitting the social business (blog posts about making the case for helping people shift from pitching social platforms and software to working socially and collaboratively).

State of Community Management 2014 Report (this report in Slideshare deserves it’s own write up about how communities (internal and external to the organization) and community management can help improve organizational performance. In several regards, it also reinforces work we’ve done in eXtension and my own experiences in a community management role)

@AlexnetlitDialogue, the engine that drives Knowledge Sharing> uncovering the “unknown knowns” #netlit”

@DaveGrayYouTube Interview with Mitchell Sipus. (This was an 88 minute interview that ended too soon. Through many fascinating stories of Sipus’s international work, great insights emerged about how to embrace messiness in complex situations and how to find intersections to solve problems.)

Communicating and Relating

Communicating and relating, especially through visual means, is on the top of my 2014 skills to improve. I especially appreciate learning through others learning and working to communicating science.

@treubold “81,561 people agree – It’s time to ditch the boring slides and design kick-ass presentations! http://www.slideshare.net/treubold/fight-the-powerpoint”

@FromtheLabBench “Totally just finished a 40-page paper in 3 days: Best Communication practices from Environmental Psychologists! pic.twitter.com/n29fvovu0d”

@DeniseRuttan Helpful share MT @copykatrecipes How to Find Your Social Media Marketing Voice and Tone: http://buff.ly/1m9zfG9 pic.twitter.com/KphqABNzlq

I picked up the book Sketchnotes by @rodesign - hoping to use this as a tool to help me improve my notetaking and drawing abilities.

Things I learn from the natural world science

Besides having pure awe and wonder at the natural world, or the desire to keep my formal education in natural sciences alive, I find helpful hints about relationships, connectedness, human wellness, and the value of diversity in networks through science and nature conversations. These hints are often helpful in me understanding or communicating social flows, ways to organize in networks,  or feeding my curiosities in other ways I have yet to understand.

@kdewey1unl One of my favorite sensations is the smell when it starts to rain on a hot summer day. Here is the science behind it.

@NatureSacred: Can Growing Cities Have Both Dense Urban Development & Green Space? http://bit.ly/1mIsICS

@AmericanForests: A Call For Backyard Biodiversity – http://www.americanforests.org/magazine/article/backyard-biodiversity/#.U1sbsYren50.twitter

One thought on “Reflection Point – April 29, 2014

  1. Pingback: Reflection Point: Social media as a lens for social change | Karen Jeannette

Leave a Reply

